<- Back

Sue Bulanda's Books

BOOKS BY OTHERS - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!



Sue Bulanda's site is a participating affiliate of the Dogwise(tm) network, DogWise.Com, so you can order your books right here. Dogwise will ship products and provide customer service for orders they receive through the links on this page.

Click on the image at the top of the description to order a book from DogWise

   If you are unable to find a book at Dogwise, try: Google



ROVER, GET OFF HER LEG! PET ETIQUETTE FOR
THE DOG WHO PEES ON YOUR RUG, STEALS TH
ROAST AND POOPS IN IMPROPER PLACES

by Darlene Arden

The worst-case scenario handbook for dogs meets
Emily Post. Some say that there are no bad dogs,
just bad dog owners. But everyone will be full of
praise for readers of Rover, Get Off Her Leg!
This good-humored guide to canine etiquette is
just what the vet would order.



Simon & Schuster's Guide to Dogs
Edited by Elizabeth Meriwether Schuler
This is a good paperback book with over 320
breeds reviewed. This is a great resource book
to help you choose the right dog for your lifestyle



The Atlas of Dog Breeds of the World
by Bonnie Wilcox, DVM, and Chris Walkowicz
This book is hardcover and large, but has
excellent photos and descriptions of most of
the breeds in the world. An excellent resource
book.


Behavior Problems in Dogs
by William E. Campbell
In my opinion, this is the best book on behavior
problems in dogs. This book is especially good for
the pet dog owner as well as the trainer.


The Irrepressible Toy Dog
by Darlene Arden

This book is by far the best book available
about all aspects of purchasing and owning
a toy dog.


Help For Your Shy Dog
by D. Wood

Sub-title: Turning Your Terrified Dog into a Terrific Pet.


Perfect Match: A Dog Buyers Guide
by Walkowicz

The perfect guide to choosing your ideal canine companion!
A photo accompanies every breed outlined, along with a
complete check list including personallity and physical
characteristics, and both the positive and negative attributes.
Highlights esch breed's unique qualities along with a look at
who should NOT own the breed. User-friendly format includes:
grooming requirements, activity level, life expectancy, size,
character, shedding, whether good with children, genetic health,
and more. Dogs are listed by AKC group.


Clicker Training for Dogs
by Karen Pryor

New book from clicker training expert Karen Pryor includes
the old A Dog & A Dlophin 2.0. It is essentially an introduction
to clicker training (positive reinforcement training system
based on operant conditioning, a set of sceintific principles
describing the development of behavior in which the animal
operates on the environment, instead of the other way around).
Contents include: a memo from Karen, A Dog & A Dolphin
(training without punishment), Getting Started (a few easy
behaviors to train with a clicker), Clicker tips, frequently
asked questions, and resources.

Clicker Fun: Dog Tricks and Games Using Positiv
Reinforcement by Jones

Operant conditioning methods are explained by a behaviorist
who is also a professional dog trainer. Once you've got the
basics, it's on to teaching the fun and practical things! Your
dog can learn to wave, dance, put away toys, turn on a light
switch, and more. Ch. 1, introduction to operant conditioning
and clicker training; Ch. 2, fundamental exercises and skills;
Ch. 3, tricks, tricks, and more tricks; Ch. 4, all kinds of games
to sharpen your teamwork skills; Ch. 5, lesson plans for a
4-week Clicks & Tricks class.

The Trick is in the Training
by Stephanie Taunton & Cheryl Smith

New and easy guide, combines basic and trick training
techniques! Illustrated with color how-to photos and
practical tips to make training easier, there are 25 tricks
to teach your dog. Start with basic commands, then
progress to wave, sit up, bow, and more. Tips to help
you work through problems and ideas for putting the
training to use - for fun, in competitive shows, for roles
in films, etc. Even utilizes clicker training!!

Dog Tricks Step by Step
by Zeigenfuse & Walker

Everyone will find fun things to do with the family pet in this
all new book by the trainer of Pres. and Mrs. Bush's dog,
Millie. Devise a personality profile for your pet so you can
select the tricks best suited--practical, simple, or just cute,
for showing off! Full color and original artwork compliment the
easy-to-follow step-by-step instruction

Volunteering With Your Pet
by Burch

A necessary manual for anyone who wishes to join the
growing number of volunteers who are working in therapy
settings, supplementing conventional medicine with the
healing potential of contact with animals. Topics include:
why do pet therapy, history of therapy, which pets do what
and why, where you can volunteer, off on your own, and an
index of case histories

Karen Pryor's Clicker Training Start-Up Kit
by Karen Pryor

Karen Pryor's "Don't Shoot the Dog" revolutionized dog
training and turned trainers on to Clicker Training.
Now you can learn how to use operant conditioning to
shape behavior in all creatures --humans, dogs, cats,
other creatures; then get Karen's Start-Up Kit, which is
a great (and inexpensive) introduction to clicker training.
The kit includes Clicker Training for Dogs booklet which
explains how dolphin training and dog training use the same
scientific principles, clicker training instructions for basic
obedience, 2 clickers and a copy of Don't Shoot The Dog
News. Get Clicking!

Click for Success: Practical Clicker Training Guide
by Mitchell

A handy guide to understanding clicker training basics
and targeting techniques! Contents: getting started, clicker
basics, training with food, let's begin training, the learning
process, rules of the training game, targeting, behavior chains,
keep going signals, future training, and definitions of terms. If
you've always wanted to try clicker training, but didn't really
understand what it was or how to go about it, here's a great place
to start!

Therapy Dogs: Training Your Dog to Reach Others
by Kathy Diamond Davis

Training your dog to reach other people. Contents: Benefits
that therapy dogs provide, what kind of dog to use (training,
benefits to the dog, to the handler, and to the community),
visits as a group (getting started, working with facility
staff, cooperation, insurance), visits with one dog (greater
responsibility, stronger focus, first visits, working with children),
c nditioning the dog to handling, basic training for the dog,
social skills for both dog and handler, extra control (special
tricks or other special skills the dog can do.) More actual
training than most books provide!
cover
The Angell Memorial Animal Hospital Book of
Wellness and Preventive Care for Dogs
by Darlene Arden

From Book News, Inc.
Arden is an animal journalist, author, lecturer, and
host of her own cable show. She supplies new and
veteran dog owners with the keys to developing a
preventative-medicine plan for all stages of their
pets' lives, including vaccinations, dentistry,
grooming, nutrition, emergencies and first aid, training
and behavior. Arden was assisted by specialists associated
with the Angell Memorial Animal Hospital, Boston, Mass., in
creating this text. Book News, Inc.®, Portland, OR


Unbelievably Good Deals and Great Adventures
That You Absolutely Can't Get Unless You're A Dog

by Darlene Arden
Darlene Arden has written another carefully researched
and wonderfully informative book. This is a fun book that lists
so many helpful and fun things that you can get or do with your
dog. Not since the Canine Source Book went out of print has
a book like this become available. A much needed addition to
the dog lovers library. A great resource for those in the dog
profession as a reference for their clients. Thank you Ms. Arden!

 


Small Dogs, Big Hearts
by Darlene Arden

A guide to caring for your little dog! Small dogs are charming,
intelligent, and loving, but they can also be overly energetic
manipulative, and stubborn. How do you ensure that your little
dog becomes a fun, fiesty best friend rather than a tiny terror?
This revised and updated edition of the classic The Irrepressible
Toy Dog follows the small dog from puppyhood through the senior
years.


Red Dog Rising
by Jeff Schettler

   Every once in a while a spectacular book comes along that is fun to read, riveting and informative. This is one such book. I personally have not been as excited about a book in a long time. Jeff Schettler is a retired police Bloodhound handler who tells us about the training and use of his first Bloodhound, Ronin.

 

 


God’s Wild Herbs by Dennis Ellingson,
Published by Cladach Publishing
Since our pets will often eat outdoor plants, I like to read about those that are edible as well as those that are harmful to pets. This book covers those that are edible. God’s Wild Herbs by Dennis Ellingson is a wonderful guide to 121 different wild plants that can be found throughout the United States. I was pleasantly surprised as I read this book how many of the plants I recognized because I had been pulling them out of my garden as weeds! I also saw some varieties of plants that I purchased in my local nursery, such as the Yarrow flower, and never knew that they were edible.  You can order this book directly from the publisher at www.cladach.com

The Complete Cat's Meow: Everything You
Need to Know about Caring for Your Ca
t
by Darlene Arden
The all-in-one resource for cat owners

Do you consider cats valued members of the family? Do you want to ensure you're giving your beloved feline friend the very best possible care? Then this all-in-one, comprehensive cat care guide is for you! From grooming to litter box issues to nutrition and much more, The Complete Cat's Meow covers all the bases to raising and caring for kitties. It also shows you how to introduce a new kitten to other pets, handle behavioral problems, and make life comfortable for cats of all ages.


Death Under The Crescent Moon
by Dusty Rainbolt


A LINK TO THE VIEDO THAT INSPIRED THE BOOK!

A Place With a Past: The Baker Hospital and Health Resort is a luxury cancer hospital... Soon after retired silent-screen sta, Eva Dupree learns that she might be terminal, she travels to Eureka Springs, Arkansas, with her dead husband's cat and her personal maid, Rose. When Eva starts to hear and see strange things, she can't be sure whether it's the effects of Baker’s unorthodox "cure" or her disease.

Of course, it could be that the place is entirely filled with ghosts, and not all of them are nice — much less harmless.



Hit by a Flying Wolf:
True Tales of Rescue, Rehabilitation and Real Life
with Dogs and Wolves by Nicole Wilde
(e-Book)

http://www.nicolewilde.com/store/hit-by-a-flying-wolf/

This is one of the most enjoyable books I have read in a long time. Ms. Wilde shares with her readers how she had to rehabilitate her own dogs (she is a dog trainer/behavior consultant) and the challenges she had co-running and being executive director at a wolf and wolfdog rescue.